No. JNU/DOS/JNUSU/2019-20/

30th July, 2019

Subject: Conduct of JNUSU Elections 2019-2020 & Grievance Redressal Cell for 2019-20

NOTIFICATION

As per the Guidelines (Clause 6.8 of the Lyngdoh Committee Recommendations), the Vice-chancellor has constituted a "Grievances Redressal Cell" with immediate effect and until further order, with the following members, with the mandate for the Redressal of election related grievances, including, but not limited to breaches of the code of conduct of elections and complaints relating to election-related expenditure:

1.	Professor Umesh Ashok Kadam, Dean of Students-	Chairperson
2.	Dr. Punam Kumari, CIL/SLL&CS	Member
3.	Dr. Nagendra Shreeniwas, CRS/SLL&CS	Member
4.	Ms. Shelley Christine Lamare, CHS/SSS	Member
5.	Mr. Karan Singh Jat, SPS	Member
6	Dr. Sajian Singh AR(IHA)	Member Secretary

The Grievance Cell shall serve as the 'Court of Original Jurisdiction'. The institutional head, i.e. the Vice-Chancellor shall have "Appellate jurisdiction' over the issues of law and fact in all cases or controversies arising out of the conduct of the elections in which the GRC has issued a final decision. Upon review, the Vice-Chancellor may 'revoke or modify' the sanction imposed by the Grievance Cell. In carrying out the duties, the Grievance Cell shall conduct proceedings and hearing necessary to fulfil those duties. In executing those duties they shall have the authority:

- (i) To 'prosecute' violators of any aspect of the code of conduct or the rulings of the Grievance Cell.
- (ii) To issue a Writ of subpoena to compel candidates, agents and workers and to request students to appear and give testimony, as well as produce necessary records.
- (iii) To inspect the financial reports of any candidates and make these records available for public scrutiny upon request.
- (iv) Any other grievances related to the conduct of the JNUSU elections.

The Sub-Committee of Observers to assist GRC for the JNUSU Elections 2019-2020:-

1. All School Area

- (a) Prof. Dhananjay Singh, ADOS-I
- (b) Dr. Tanuja Mohanty, ADOS-II
- (c) Dr. Buddha Singh, ADOS-III

2. Uttarakhand

- (a) Prof. Rajnish K. Mishra, Provost
- (b) Dr. Nemthianngai Guite, Ganga Hostel
- (c) Dr. Amit Kumar Mishra, Jhelum Hostel
- (d) Dr. Manoj Munde, Sutlej Hostel
- (e) Dr. Sneh L. Panwar, Yamuna Hostel

3. Paschimabad - I

- (a) Dr. Neerja Samajdar, Provost
- (b) Dr. Rahul Raj, Narmada Hostel
- (c) Dr. Ramovatar Meena, Sabarmati Hostel
- (d) Dr. Abhisheka Bansal, Tapti Hostel
- (e) Dr. Saumyajit Ray, Mahi-Mandavi Hostel

4. Paschimabad-II

- (a) Prof. Shakti Kumar, Provost
- (b) Dr. Sapna Ratan Shah, Koyna Hostel
- (c) Dr. Ch. Radha Gayathri, Shipra Hostel
- (d) Dr. Pranav Kumar, Lohit Hostel
- (e) Dr. Shailja Singh, Chandrabhaga Hostel

5. Poorvanchal

- (a) Dr. Santosh Kumar Shukla, Provost
- (b) Dr. Pijus Kumar Sasmal, Damodar Hostel
- (c) Prof. Arun Kharat, Brahmaputra Hostel
- (d) Dr. Gopal Lal Meena, Brahmaputra Hostel
- (e) Dr. Jaikhlong Basumatary, Mahanadi Hostel

6. Dakshinapuram

- (a) Dr. Bhaswati Das, Provost
- (b) Dr. Birendra Nath Prasad, Periyar Hostel
- (c) Dr. Gajendra P. Singh, Periyar Hostel
- (d) Dr. Manish Kumar Barnwal, Kaveri Hostel
- (e) Reeta Sony, Godavari Hostel

This has approval of the competent authority.

(Umesh Ashok Kadam) Dean of Students

To: The Chairperson and all Members of the Grievance Cell

Copy to:

- 1. All Dean of Schools/Chairpersons of Special Centres
- 2. All Senior Wardens/All Provosts/Chief Proctor
- 3. OSD to Vice-Chancellor
- 4. PS to Rectors/Registrar/C(E)/Director, Admission Finance Officer/Librarian/ Director, CIS
- 5. DR(IHA)/DR(SC/ST Cell)/DR (Legal)
- 6. P.R.O./CSO/SO(IHA)