JAWAHARLAL NEHRU UNIVERSITY OFFICE OF THE DEAN OF STUDENTS

No. JNU/DoS/JNUSU/2018-19/

14th August, 2018

Subject: Conduct of JNUSU Elections 2018-2019 & Grievance Redressal Cell for 2018-2019

NOTIFICATION

As per the Guidelines (Clause 6.8 of the Lyngdoh Committee Recommendations), the Vicechancellor has constituted a "Grievances Redressal Cell" with immediate effect and until further order, with the following members, with the mandate for the Redressal of election related grievances, including, but not limited to breaches of the code of conduct of elections and complaints relating to election-related expenditure:

- 1. Professor Umesh Ashok Kadam, Dean of Students- Chairpe
- 2. Dr. Vandana Mishra, CCP&PT/SSS
- 3. Dr. Asheesh Kumar, CSSS/SSS
- 4. Ms. Dolly Purohit, CHS/SSS
- 5. Mr. Rohit Ashok Mule, CWAS/SIS
- 6. AR/DR (IHA)

Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Secretary

The Grievance Cell shall serve as the 'Court of Original Jurisdiction'. The institutional head, i.e. the Vice-Chancellor shall have "Appellate jurisdiction' over the issues of law and fact in all cases or controversies arising out of the conduct of the elections in which the GRC has issued a final decision. Upon review, the Vice-Chancellor may 'revoke or modify' the sanction imposed by the Grievance Cell. In carrying out the duties, the Grievance Cell shall conduct proceedings and hearing necessary to fulfil those duties. In executing those duties they shall have the authority:

- (i) To 'prosecute' violators of any aspect of the code of conduct or the rulings of the Grievance Cell.
- (ii) To issue a Writ of subpoena to compel candidates, agents and workers and to request students to appear and give testimony, as well as produce necessary records.
- (iii) To inspect the financial reports of any candidates and make these records available for public scrutiny upon request.
- (iv) Any other grievances related to the conduct of the JNUSU elections.

This has approval of the competent authority.

(Umesh Ashok Kadam) Dean of Students

To: The Chairperson and all Members of the Grievance Cell

Copy to:

- 1. All Dean of Schools/Chairpersons of Special Centres
- 2. All Senior Wardens/All Provosts/Chief Proctor
- 3. OSD to Vice-Chancellor
- 4. PS to Rectors/Registrar/C(E)/Director, Admission Finance Officer/ Librarian/ Director, CIS
- 5. DR(IHA)/DR(SC/ST Cell)/DR (Legal)
- 6. P.R.O./CSO/SO(IHA)