Skip to main content




Spanish & Latin American





The awards instituted for the students of the Centre:


  • The Rafael Iruzubieta Award

This award has been instituted by the eminent Spanish lawyer and “Padma Sri” Dr. Rafael Iruzubieta Fernández, consists of a citation and a cash prize, and is given annually to the student securing the highest grade (CGPA) in M.A. Spanish.


  • The Irene Peláez de Iruzubieta Award

This award instituted, by the wife of eminent Spanish lawyer Dr. Rafael Iruzubieta Fernández, Irene Peláez de Iruzubieta, consists of a citation and a cash prize, and is given annually to the student securing the second highest grade (CGPA) in M.A. Spanish.


  • The Juhi Prasad Award

This award instituted in memory of a former student of this Centre by her parents consists of a citation and a cash prize and is given to the girl student securing the highest grade (CGPA) in B.A. Spanish.



Scholarship for Indian Students

There are several international scholarships available for meritorious students under different programmes from:

  • Spain

  • México

  • Perú

  • Colombia

In addition to the above, there are scholarships sponsored by the University and other government and private trusts/institutions for deserving candidates.


Scholarship for International Students

There are many scholarships available for International students. Please contact the Indian Council for Cultural Relations (I.C.C.R.) New Delhi

USA based company Awardbird offers free airline tickets for participating in their scholarship. Please contact them directly for more information.




The faculty members of the Centre (both retired and serving) are recipients of several prestigious international awards and honours for making significant contribution in their respective fields.


Recipient of Award

  • Ms Minu Bakshi – 'Orden de Isabella la Catolica' Spain.

  • Prof. Rajiv Saxena - Honorary Citizen of the City of Davis, California, U.S.A.

  • Prof. Anil K. Dhingra - Condecoración de la Orden de Manuel Amador Guerrero, Panamá.


  • Prof. Rajiv Saxena –

    • Fulbright Senior Scholar, University of California and Harvard University, U.S.A.

    • Post-Doctoral Research Fellowship for conducting research in the University of Nebrija, Spain.

  • Prof. Anil K. Dhingra - University Grants Commission Fellowship for conducting research in the University of Havana, Cuba.

  • Dr. Lipi Biswas Sen –

    • SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship (SSHRC-Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, Govt. of Canada).

    • University of Toronto Fellowship, Toronto, Canada.


  • Hispanista Scholarship for research in Spain by the Ministry of External Affairs, Government of Spain to:-

    • Prof. Rajiv Saxena

    • Prof. Anil K. Dhingra

    • Prof. Indrani  Mukherjee

  • Erasmus Mundus Scholarship to Spain and the Netherlands to pursue Master Degree Programme to:

    • Mr. Gaurav Kumar

    • Mr. Nabil Ansari

  • Dr. Lipi Biswas Sen – Mary Beatty Scholarship, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada.



Recipient of Award:

  • Gabriela Mistral Award, Chile 

  • Bernardo O. Higgins Medal , Chile 

  • Pablo Neruda Medal of Honour, Chile.

  • Honoris Causa by Columbia University, Columbia 

  • Honoris Causa by University of Buenos Aires, Argentina


A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.