Skip to main content



The Centre of Social Medicine and Community Health at Jawaharlal Nehru University, was started in 1971 with the mandate of evolving the contours of the discipline as suited to the Indian context with all its diversity, and with special attention to the vulnerable sections. The experience of developing its theoretical base and curriculum for the various teaching and research programmes offered by the Centre have served well over generations of students and faculty. Many more institutions have initiated Public Health programmes and research, contributing immensely to the development of the discipline and its practice. Collaborations with many of them have enriched our own work.
As a culmination to the yearlong celebrations of our golden jubilee, the Centre is hosting the following:

The First Annual People’s Health Oration
Date:  13th July 2024
Time:   10.30 am
A Webinar Series on 'Inter-disciplinary Public Health in the 21st Century: Bridging Science and Social Science Dimensions

Webinar I: Defining the Contours of Public Health
[Organised in collaboration with the Centre for Community Medicine, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi]
Date:  19th July 2024
Time:   5 pm

Webinar 2: Epidemiology and the Social Sciences: 26th July 2024
[Organised in collaboration with the National Institute of Epidemiology, Indian Council of Medical Research]
Date:  26th July 2024
Time:   5.30 pm
Organising Committee (CSMCH/JNU):
Prof. Ritu Priya, Prof. Rama Baru, Prof. Rajib Dasgupta, Prof. Ramila Bisht, Dr. Prachin Ghodajkar

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.