Skip to main content



The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBSC), JNU is the nodal body set up the University as per the national biosafety regulatory framework and registered and monitored by DBT/RCGM (Review Committee on Genetic Manipulation).


"As per the Biosafety Regulatory Framework, all activities related to Genetically Engineered organisms (GE organisms) or cells and non-GE hazardous microorganisms and products thereof are regulated as per the Rules for the Manufacture, Use, Import, Export and Storage of Hazardous Microorganisms/Genetically Engineered Organisms or Cells 1989 (known as 'Rules, 1989') notified by the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC), Government of India, under the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 (EPA 1986)"†.


"The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBSC)† is solely responsible


  1. To implement and respond to institutional biosafety & biosecurity at the institution level and
  2. Evaluation of applications/ reports related to rDNA technology work involving the GE organisms and non-GE hazardous microorganisms in an organisation."


Handbook for Institutional Biosafety Committees, DBT, September 2020.


IBSC, JNU Office Contact:

Dean’s Office, School of Life Sciences, JNU


A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.