Skip to main content

Instructions for Zero Semester

Instructions for Zero Semester



Instructions for Zero Semester


Check-list/Instructions for zero semester on medical ground::

  1. Application for zero semester must be submitted in the prescribed format.
  2. Application for zero semester must be submitted within the stipulated time as mentioned on the prescribed format of application i.e. latest by 12th May for Winter Semester and 5th December for Monsoon Semester. In case, the last date happens to be holiday, next working day will be the last date.
  3. The Student applying for zero semester, must intimate his illness within seven days or any family member or any class/roommate on his/her behalf.
  4. Application should be forwarded to the Asstt/Dy. Registrar (Eval.) by the Chairperson of concerned Centre and the concerned Dean of the School with clear-cut/specific recommendation. Student shall not bring the application personally to the Evaluation Branch which should be forwarded officially by the School.
  5. Application for zero semester on medical ground must be enclosed with Medical Certificate/Fitness Certificate duly stamped (indicating registration no.) & having signature of the student with attestation by doctor.
  6. Students applying for zero semester on medical ground must comply with the instructions given in the prescribed application format and must fill up all the columns of the application, clearly indicating the name of semester & year he is seeking for zero semester/year.
  7. Incomplete application and/or non-compliance of above instructions shall liable to be rejected straightaway without further notice.

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.