Skip to main content

Associated Faculty

Associated Faculty

Associated Faculty

 

 
 Ajay Kumar Dubey
Prof. Ajay Kumar Dubey
akdubey@mail.jnu.ac.in , ajaydubey.jnu@gmail.com
 
Arun Srivastava
Dr. Arun Srivastava
a_srivastava@mail.jnu.ac.in , srivastava02@hotmail.com
 
Bhupinder Zutshi
Prof. Bhupinder Zutshi
b_zutshi@mail.jnu.ac.in , bzutshi@gmail.com
 
Girish Nath Jha
Prof.Girish Nath Jha
girishjha@jnu.ac.in ; girishjha@gmail.com
 
Gulshan Sachdeva
Prof. Gulshan Sachdeva
gulshanjnu@gmail.com, gulshan@mail.jnu.ac.in
Jayant Tripathi
Prof. Jayant Tripathi
jktripathi@mail.jnu.ac.in , jktrip@yahoo.com
Kaushal K. Sharma
Prof. Kaushal K. Sharma
kaushalkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in
Krishnendu Ghosh Dastidar
Prof. Krishnendu Ghosh Dastidar
krishnendu.dastidar@gmail.com, kgd0302@mail.jnu.ac.in , kgd12@yahoo.com
 
Madhav Govind
Prof. Madhav Govind
m_govind@mail.jnu.ac.in , mgovind11@gmail.com
 
Milap Punia
Prof. Milap Punia
punia@mail.jnu.ac.in , milap.jnu@gmail.com
 
P.K. Joshi
Prof. P.K. Joshi
pkjoshi@mail.jnu.ac.in , pkjoshi27@hotmail.com
 
Paulraj Rajamani
Prof. Paulraj Rajamani
paulrajr@mail.jnu.ac.in
 
Pradipta K. Chaudhury
Prof. Pradipta K. Chaudhury
pradipta@mail.jnu.ac.in
 
Dr. Ravikesh
Prof. Ravikesh
ravikesh@mail.jnu.ac.in , ravikesh@gmail.com
 
Saumen Chattopadhyay
Prof. Saumen Chattopadhyay
saumen@mail.jnu.ac.in saumen@jnu.ac.in
 
Sudesh Yadav
Dr. Sudesh Yadav
syadav@mail.jnu.ac.in , sudesh27@hotmail.com
 
T.V. Vijay Kumar
Prof. T.V. Vijay Kumar
tvvk@mail.jnu.ac.in, tvvijaykumar@hotmail.com
 
Umesh Kulshrestha
Prof. Umesh Kulshrestha
umesh@mail.jnu.ac.in ; umeshkulshrestha@gmail.com
 
Usha Mina
Dr. Usha Mina
ushamina@mail.jnu.ac.in , praush2@gmail.com
 
 

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.