Skip to main content



Courses  being offered in the Monsoon Semester-2023


A new academic research Centre at JNU which is also the first transdisciplinary research Centre has finally arrived on the JNU turf. The academic environment at JNU is already multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary at every center but the new center which has been given the name ‘Special Centre for Disaster Research’ is transdisciplinary in nature. Transdisciplinarity suggests that the nature of research would not be confined to strict parent disciplines of social sciences or natural sciences but transcend their boundaries and limitations to absorb both the scientific findings which provoke decision making and social sciences sensitivities to decipher and direct these findings to communities and institutions of decision making. The three key functional areas are, first; natural sciences, GIS and satellite imagery, second; communities, institutions and legal framework of decision making, third; administration and government agencies in disaster management.


National Institute of Disaster Management (NIDM) signed a MoU with JNU on 6th August 2015 in the presence of the Hon’ble Minister of State Shri Kiren Rijiju. The MoU suggested that the two institutions should strengthen academic institutions for a much-wanted research on disasters. The JNU team from six centers was already working on it after the Uttarakhand disaster in 2011.  Under the 12th Plan, which mandates for universities to take up research in disasters, the study became a programme, but the wings to research came when this programme got the support of MHA.







A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.