Skip to main content

CRS Faculty Awards

CRS Faculty Awards

S. No. Name Award/Honour Year
1. Professor C.N. Chakravarti Pushkin Medal 1979
2. Professor R. Kumar Pushkin Medal 1984
3. Professor R.S. Bagga Pushkin Medal 1997
4. Professor R.N. Menon Pushkin Medal 1998
5. Professor K.P. Sankaran Unny Pushkin Medal 2002
6. Professor H.C. Pande Pushkin Medal 2004
7. Professor Sankar Basu "Order of Friendship" 2007
8. Professor Meeta Narain Dr. Radhakrishnan Millennium National Teacher Award 2010
9. Dr. Sonu Saini Award: "The Best Young Teacher of Russian Language" 2010
10. Dr. Sonu Saini Award: "Best Foreign Teacher of Russian Language and Literature" 2014
11. Dr. Sonu Saini Awarded First Place in the International Competition “Media Technology in teaching Russian language and Russian Culture” by " by Rossotrudnichestvo, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Russia.   2015
12. Dr. Sonu Saini Awarded Laureate in the International Contest "The Best Teacher of Russian Language & Literature Abroad" by Rossotrudnichestvo, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Russia. 2015
13. Dr. Sonu Saini Awarded as the winner in International Competition in the nomination of Teaching subject in Russian language” held at Artek organised by Pushkin State Institute of Russian language 2017
14. Prof. Meeta Narain Awarded Education Award for Excellence 2016
15. Dr. Sonu Saini Awarded as the winner of the International Pushkin Competition organised by Rossiskaya Gazeta, Moscow 2018
16. Prof. Meeta Narain Pushkin Medal 2019
17. Prof. Meeta Narain Modernites Award for Excellence 2019
18. Dr. Sonu Saini Pushkin Prize, 2022 2022

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.