Skip to main content

CES Honours Awards

CES Honours Awards


Ummu Salma Bava

Prof. Ummu Salma Bava, Director Europe Area Studies Programme and Professor for European Studies in the Centre and Associate Fellow of Asia Society, New York has been conferred the prestigious award - Order of Merit (Bundesverdienstkreuz) of the Federal Republic of Germany by the President Dr. Christian Wulff.

The Order of Merit is the highest honorary tribute the Federal Republic of Germany can bestow on individuals for services to the nation in the political, socio-economic and intellectual sphere.

Prof. Bava has been conferred with the award in “recognition of her outstanding achievement regarding Indo-German relations over the past decades. Her tireless work has considerably enhanced Germany’s standing in India”. The Award ceremony will be held in early 2012.



Sheetal Sharma

Dr. Sheetal Sharma, Awarded JNU Research Excellence Award for outstanding contribution and excellence in the field of Social Sciences and Humanities for the year 2018-19 in the Young Scholars Category.

Selected for Prestigious European Union Visitors Program, 2020 (EUVP, 2020). EUVP is a study visit to Brussels, individually tailored to gain first-hand information on the EU's values, functioning, activities, policies and perspectives.


A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.