Skip to main content

CHS Faculty

CHS Faculty

Number of Faculty : 18
  • Heeraman Tiwari
    Heeraman Tiwari
    Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    htiwari@mail.jnu.ac.in heeraman98@gmail.com
  • Joy L.K. Pachuau
    Joy L.K. Pachuau
    Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    jpachuau@mail.jnu.ac.in joy.pachuau@gmail.com
  • Kumkum Roy
    Kumkum Roy
    Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    kumkumroy@mail.jnu.ac.in , kumkumr@yahoo.com
  • Najaf Haider
    Najaf Haider
    Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    nhaider@mail.jnu.ac.in snajafhaider@gmail.com
  • R.  Mahalakshmi
    R. Mahalakshmi
    Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    rmahalakshmi@mail.jnu.ac.in , mahaarakesh@gmail.com
  • Sucheta  Mahajan
    Sucheta Mahajan
    Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    smahajan@mail.jnu.ac.in smahajanjnu@gmail.com
  • Umesh Ashok Kadam
    Umesh Ashok Kadam
    Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    uakadam@mail.jnu.ac.in , umeshkadam1@gmail.com
  • Indivar Kamtekar
    Indivar Kamtekar
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    indivar@mail.jnu.ac.in, indivarkamtekar@gmail.com
  • Jyoti Atwal
    Jyoti Atwal
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    jyoti_atwal@mail.jnu.ac.in , jyotiatjnu@gmail.com
  • Nonica  Datta
    Nonica Datta
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    nonicadatta@mail.jnu.ac.in , nonica.datta@gmail.com
  • Ranjeeta  Dutta
    Ranjeeta Dutta
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    ranjeetadutta@mail.jnu.ac.in , ranjeeta.dutta@gmail.com
  • Sangeeta  DasGupta
    Sangeeta DasGupta
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    sangeetadasgupta@mail.jnu.ac.in , sangeetadasgupta@hotmail.com
  • Shonaleeka Kaul
    Shonaleeka Kaul
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    shonaleeka@mail.jnu.ac.in , shonaleeka@gmail.com
  • Supriya  Varma
    Supriya Varma
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    supriyav@jnu.ac.in , varma.supriya@gmail.com
  • Birendra Nath Prasad
    Birendra Nath Prasad
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    bnprasad@mail.jnu.ac.in , bp2629@gmail.com
  • Burton Cleetus
    Burton Cleetus
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    burton@mail.jnu.ac.in , burtoncleetus@gmail.com
  • Jangkhomang Guite
    Jangkhomang Guite
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    jkmguite@gmail.com
  • S.  Gunasekaran
    S. Gunasekaran
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    gunasekaran@mail.jnu.ac.in

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.