Skip to main content








The Centre offers two programmes of study- MA. and M.Phil and Ph.D. The teaching and research work of the Centre covers three rubrics of political studies: (1) political philosophy and history of ideas; (2) Indian government, politics and public policy; and (3) comparative politics and international relations.

Admission to Ph.D. programme

Those who wish to apply for a research degree are expected to have a strong, detailed and well developed research proposal for a thesis that can be supervised in the Centre. In addition to fulfillment of the entry requirements, they will need to approach the subject with rigor and appropriate knowledge of the field. Candidates must submit a copy of their research proposal along with their application for admission to the Ph.D. programme.


Applicants for the programme will be examined for their analytical ability in topics covered by an M.A. programme in Political Science. These would broadly include Philosophy and Methods of the Social Sciences, Traditions of Political Inquiry, Key Concepts in Political Science, Contemporary Debates in Political Philosophy, Indian Politics (Institutions, Processes and Policies) Key Debates in Indian Politics, Issues in Comparative Politics, and International Relations.

Questions in the entrance test will include recent political debates. In addition questions based on the various Masters level courses will also be asked. Questions on the various quantitative and qualitative research methods commonly used in social science research will also feature in the entrance test. For more details about our programme and courses, please visit the website.


Admission to M.A. in Political Science


Eligibility for admission


Bachelor’s degree under 10+2+3 pattern of education with at least 50% marks in Social sciences and 55% marks for those who have Bachelor’s Degree in science and technology disciplines.


Entrance Examination details


The M.A. in Political Science continues to be distinctive in its commitment to teaching through lectures and tutorials in order to maintain high standards of excellence in the discipline. Candidates are expected to be familiar with the content of a standard B.A. course in Political Science. Applicants will be tested from areas given below:

Unit I

a) Social and Political Thought of Modern India
b) Western Political Thought
c) Concepts and Approaches in Political Theory

Unit II

d) Constitution and Political Institutions of India
e) State and Politics in India
f) Political Processes and Public Policies in India

Unit III

g) Comparative Government and Politics
h) International Relations

Applicants will be require to show familiarity with each Unit.

As a degree in Political Science, the M.A. programme of the Centre focuses on the study of Political Theory/ Ideas, Comparative Politics/International Relations, and Indian Politics and Public Policy. The programme is designed to - a) enhance theoretical understanding and develop methodological skills in these three branches of Political Science; (b) relate political processes with social structures and ideas; and (c) interpret institutions, policies and processes in a historical perspective. The Centre places special emphasis on the study of political developments in India and promotes theoretically informed analysis of social and political reality.

The M.A. programme consists of 16 courses, which are taught over four semesters. Of these 10 are compulsory and the remaining six are optional courses. Of the six optional courses, at least four should be chosen from a wide range of optional courses offered by the Centre and two may be from outside the Centre in the two years M.A. programme.

All compulsory courses offered by the students are lecture-based courses. However, they require students to write tutorials/term papers. In each case, fifty percent of the grade depends on the student’s performance in midterm assignments and the remaining fifty percent is awarded on the basis of their performance in the end semester examination.
For more details about the Centre, visit the JNU website :








A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.