Skip to main content

Recognised Institutes

Recognised Institutes


JNU has granted recognition and accreditation to the following prestigious institutions across the country. This has added to the true national character of the University. Representatives of these Institutions serve on various academic and statutory bodies of the JNU. Similarly, JNU faculty also participate in the academic bodies of these Institutions.


Sr. No. Name of the Institutions

National Defence Academy (NDA)
Khadakwasla, Pune, Maharashtra

2. Army Cadet College (ACC)
Indian Military Academy, Dehradun, Uttarakhand
3. Military College of Telecommunication Engineering (MCTE)
Mhow, Madhya Pradesh
4. College of Military Engineering (CME)
Pune, Maharashtra
5. Military College of Electronics & Mechanical Engineering (MCEME)
Secunderabad, Andhra Pradesh
6. Indian Naval Academy (INA)
Ezhimala, Kannur, Kerala
7. Defence Institute of Physiology & Allied Sciences (DIPAS)
Defence Research & Development Organization (DRDO), Delhi


Sr. No. Name of the Institutions
1. Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI)
2. Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology (CCMB)
3. Inter-University Accelerator Centre (IUAC)
New Delhi
4. Institute of Microbial Technology (IMTECH)
5. Central Institute of Medicinal & Aromatic Plants (CIMAP)

Raman Research Institute (RRI)

7. National Institute of Immunology (NII)
New Delhi
8. National Institute of Plant Genome Research (NIPGR)
New Delhi
9. International Centre for Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology (ICGEB)
New Delhi
10. Centre for Development Studies (CDS)
Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
11. Translational Health Science and Technology Institute (THSTI)
12. Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA)
13. Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (LBSNAA)
14. National Academy of Audit and Accounts (NAAA)
15. Arun Jaitley National Institute of Financial Management (AJNIFM)
Faridabad, Haryana
16. International Centre for Free and Open Source Software (ICFOSS)
Trivandrum, Kerala
17. National Institute of Health and Family Welfare (NIHFW)
18. Indian Institute of Geomagnetism (IIG)
19. National Council for Hotel Management & Catering Technology  (NCHMCT)
20. Indian Institute of Tourism and Travel Management (IITTM)
21. National Council of Science Museums (NCSM)




A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.