Skip to main content

Faculty Directory

Faculty Directory :

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | Y | Z

Faculty Directory

Number of Faculty : 26
  • N. Janardhana  Raju
    N. Janardhana  Raju
    Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    rajunj@mail.jnu.ac.in , rajunj7@gmail.com
  • N. Kamala
    N. Kamala
    Professor
    Centre for French and Francophone Studies,
    nkamala@mail.jnu.ac.in nkamala59@yahoo.co.in
  • N.S. Roomi
    N.S. Roomi
    Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    nsroomi@mail.jnu.ac.in , nasarshakeel@gmail.com
  • Najaf Haider
    Najaf Haider
    Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    nhaider@mail.jnu.ac.in snajafhaider@gmail.com
  • Naman P. Ahuja
    Naman P. Ahuja
    Professor
    School of Arts & Aesthetics
    nahuja@mail.jnu.ac.in namanahuja@gmail.com
  • Narender Kumar
    Narender Kumar
    Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    narenderkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in kumarr.narender@gmail.com
  • Nilika Mehrotra
    Nilika Mehrotra
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    nilika@jnu.ac.in, nilika21@yahoo.co.in
  • Nivedita Menon
    Nivedita Menon
    Professor
    Centre for Comparative Politics & Political Theory,
    nivedita@mail.jnu.ac.in , nivmen@gmail.com
  • Nagendra Shreeniwas
    Nagendra Shreeniwas
    Associate Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    nshreeniwas@mail.jnu.ac.in ; nshreeniwas@jnu.ac.in
  • Naidu  Subbarao
    Naidu Subbarao
    Associate Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
    nsrao@mail.jnu.ac.in nsrao.jnu@gmail.com
  • Narinder Singh Sahni
    Narinder Singh Sahni
    Associate Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
    narinder@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Neelima Mondal
    Neelima Mondal
    Associate Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    nmondal@mail.jnu.ac.in , nmondal@hotmail.com
  • Neerja Samajdar
    Neerja Samajdar
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Korean Studies,
    neerjasingh@mail.jnu.ac.in , neerjass@hotmail.com
  • Nemthianngai Guite
    Nemthianngai Guite
    Associate Professor
    Centre of Social Medicine and Community Health,
    nguite@mail.jnu.ac.in, nguite@jnu.ac.in
  • Nonica  Datta
    Nonica Datta
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    nonicadatta@mail.jnu.ac.in , nonica.datta@gmail.com
  • N. Chandrasegaran
    N. Chandrasegaran
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    chandrasegaran@mail.jnu.ac.in ncsjnu@gmail.com
  • Nabiel Ansari
    Nabiel Ansari
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian & Latin American Studies,
    nabiel@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Nalin Kumar Mohapatra
    Nalin Kumar Mohapatra
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Russian and Central Asian Studies,
    nalin@mail.jnu.ac.in , nalin238@gmail.com
  • Nanda Kumar Janardhanan
    Nanda Kumar Janardhanan
    Assistant Professor
    Energy Studies Programme
    nandakumar@mail.jnu.ac.in, nanduj123@gmail.com
  • Nandita Saikia
    Nandita Saikia
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    nanditasaikia@mail.jnu.ac.in nanditasts@gmail.com
  • Naresh Kumar Verma
    Naresh Kumar Verma
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for National Security Studies
    nkverma@mail.jnu.ac.in, nareshrai.jnu@gmail.com
  • Navaneetha  Mokkil
    Navaneetha Mokkil
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Women's Studies
    navaneetha@mail.jnu.ac.in, nmokkil@gmail.com
  • Nikunj Makwana
    Nikunj Makwana
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for Disaster Research
    dr.nikunj@yahoo.co.in; nikunj@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Nirala Ramchiary
    Nirala Ramchiary
    Assistant Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    nramchiary@mail.jnu.ac.in nrudsc@gmail.com
  • Niti  Puri
    Niti Puri
    Assistant Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    purin@mail.jnu.ac.in niti_puri@hotmail.com
  • Nupur  Chowdhury
    Nupur Chowdhury
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Law and Governance
    nupur@mail.jnu.ac.in nupurchow@gmail.com

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.