Skip to main content

Faculty Directory

Faculty Directory :

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | Y | Z

Faculty Directory

Number of Faculty : 56
  • Madhav Govind
    Madhav Govind
    Professor
    Centre for Studies in Science Policy,
    m_govind@mail.jnu.ac.in , mgovind11@gmail.com
  • Madhu Sahni
    Madhu Sahni
    Professor
    Centre of German Studies,
    madhusahni@mail.jnu.ac.in , masa1329@gmail.com
  • Mahendra P. Lama
    Mahendra P. Lama
    Professor
    Centre for South Asian Studies
    mahendra_lama1961@yahoo.co.in; mplama@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Maitrayee Chaudhuri
    Maitrayee Chaudhuri
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    maitrayee@mail.jnu.ac.in , maitrayeec@gmail.com
  • Makarand R. Paranjape
    Makarand R. Paranjape
    Professor
    Centre for English Studies,
    makarand@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Manish Kumar
    Manish Kumar
    Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    mkkashyap@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Manukonda Rabindranath
    Manukonda Rabindranath
    Professor
    Centre for Media Studies
    manukonda@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Mazhar Asif
    Mazhar Asif
    Professor
    Centre of Persian and Central Asian Studies
    mazharasif@mail.jnu.ac.in, mazharassam@gmail.com
  • Mazhar Hussain
    Mazhar Hussain
    Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    mazhar@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Meeta Keswani Mehra
    Meeta Keswani Mehra
    Professor
    Centre for International Trade & Development
    meetakm@mail.jnu.ac.in , meetakm@gmail.com; meetakm@jnu.ac.in
  • Meeta Narain
    Meeta Narain
    Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    mnarain@mail.jnu.ac.in , meetanarain@hotmail.com
  • Milap Chand Sharma
    Milap Chand Sharma
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    milap@mail.jnu.ac.in milapsharmain@yahoo.co.in
  • Milap Punia
    Milap Punia
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    punia@mail.jnu.ac.in , milap.jnu@gmail.com
  • Minati Panda
    Minati Panda
    Professor
    Zakir Husain Centre for Educational Studies,
    minatipanda@mail.jnu.ac.in , minatip@gmail.com
  • Moinuddin A. Jinabade
    Moinuddin A. Jinabade
    Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    majinabade@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Mujeebur Rahman
    Mujeebur Rahman
    Professor
    Centre of Arabic and African studies,
    m_rahman@mail.jnu.ac.in, mujeeburrahman1972@gmail.com
  • Mukesh Jain
    Mukesh Jain
    Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
    mjain@jnu.ac.in , mjainanid@gmail.com
  • Madan Mohan
    Madan Mohan
    Associate Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    madanmohan@mail.jnu.ac.in , drmdnmohan@gmail.com
  • Mahendra Pratap Rana
    Mahendra Pratap Rana
    Associate Professor
    Centre for West Asian Studies
    mprana@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Mandira Sarma
    Mandira Sarma
    Associate Professor
    Centre for International Trade & Development
    sarmam@mail.jnu.ac.in , msarma.ms@gmail.com
  • Manidipa Sen
    Manidipa Sen
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Philosophy,
    manidipa@mail.jnu.ac.in , manidipase@gmail.com
  • Manindra Nath Thakur
    Manindra Nath Thakur
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    manindrat@mail.jnu.ac.in , manindrat@gmail.com
  • Manju Khari
    Manju Khari
    Associate Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    manjukhari@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Manoj Kumar Jena
    Manoj Kumar Jena
    Associate Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    manojkjena@mail.jnu.ac.in, drmanojkjena@gmail.com
  • Md. Mazharul Haque
    Md. Mazharul Haque
    Associate Professor
    Centre of Persian and Central Asian Studies
    mmhaque@mail.jnu.ac.in , haqmazhar2004@gmail.com
  • Md. Qutbuddin
    Md. Qutbuddin
    Associate Professor
    Centre of Arabic and African studies,
    qutbuddin@mail.jnu.ac.in , basmaqutb@gmail.com
  • Md. Tauheed Khan
    Md. Tauheed Khan
    Associate Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    tauheedkhan@mail.jnu.ac.in drtauheedkhan@gmail.com
  • Minaketan Behera
    Minaketan Behera
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Informal Sector & Labour Studies,
    minaketan@mail.jnu.ac.in behera.minaketan@gmail.com
  • Mollica Dastider
    Mollica Dastider
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Comparative Politics & Political Theory,
    mollica@mail.jnu.ac.in , mollica.dastider@gmail.com
  • Moushumi Basu
    Moushumi Basu
    Associate Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament,
    mbasu@mail.jnu.ac.in , moushumi.basu@gmail.com
  • Mohd. Asif Zahri
    Mohd. Asif Zahri
    Associate Profesor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    zahri@mail.jnu.ac.in , asifzahri@gmail.com
  • Manoj K. Sharma
    Manoj K. Sharma
    Assistant Professor (UGC)
    School of Biotechnology
    mksharma@jnu.ac.in , manojdarolia@gmail.com
  • M.V. Lakshmi
    M.V. Lakshmi
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Japanese Studies,
    mvlakshmi@mail.jnu.ac.in ; mvlakshmi@gmail.com
  • Mahesh Ranjan Debata
    Mahesh Ranjan Debata
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Inner Asian Studies,
    mdebata@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Malkhan Singh
    Malkhan Singh
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages,
    malkhansingh@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Mallarika Sinha Roy
    Mallarika Sinha Roy
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Women's Studies
    msroy@jnu.ac.in , mallarikasinharoy@yahoo.com
  • Manish  Dabhade
    Manish Dabhade
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament,
    mdmanish@jnu.ac.in , mdmanish@gmail.com
  • Manish Kumar Barnwal
    Manish Kumar Barnwal
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Korean Studies,
    mkbarnwal@mail.jnu.ac.in , hanamanish@gmail.com
  • Manjeet  Baruah
    Manjeet Baruah
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for the Study of North East India
    mbaruah@mail.jnu.ac.in , manjeetbaruah@gmail.com
  • Manju Rani  Hara
    Manju Rani Hara
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Chinese and South East Asian Studies,
    manjuhara@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Manoj  Munde
    Manoj Munde
    Assistant Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    mmunde@mail.jnu.ac.in , mundemanoj@gmail.com
  • Manoj  Verma
    Manoj Verma
    Assistant Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    manojverma@mail.jnu.ac.in, m.infinite@gmail.com
  • Manoj Kumar
    Manoj Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,
    manojkumar@jnu.ac.in , manojdiwakarstat@gmail.com
  • Manuradha Chaudhary
    Manuradha Chaudhary
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    manuradha@mail.jnu.ac.in , manuradharaj@gmail.com
  • Md Akhlaque Azad
    Md Akhlaque Azad
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Persian and Central Asian Studies
    mdazad@mail.jnu.ac.in , akhlaque.azad@gmail.com
  • Meenakshi Sundriyal
    Meenakshi Sundriyal
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian & Latin American Studies,
    msundriyal@mail.jnu.ac.in , msun10@hotmail.com
  • Meenakshi  Dua
    Meenakshi  Dua
    Assistant Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    meenakshi72@hotmail.com, mdua@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Meenu Bhatnagar
    Meenu Bhatnagar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    meenub@mail.jnu.ac.in , meenu_bhatnagar@hotmail.com
  • Mercy Vungthianmuang Guite
    Mercy Vungthianmuang Guite
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of German Studies,
    mercymuang@mail.jnu.ac.in , mercymuang@gmail.com
  • Milind E.  Awad
    Milind E. Awad
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for English Studies,
    ameknath@mail.jnu.ac.in , milindawad1@gmail.com
  • Mohammad Ajmal
    Mohammad Ajmal
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Arabic and African studies,
    majmal@mail.jnu.ac.in ; mohammadajmal1114@gmail.com
  • Mohd. Akram Nawaz
    Mohd. Akram Nawaz
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Arabic and African studies,
    manawaz@mail.jnu.ac.in , nawazjnu@gmail.com
  • Mohinder  Singh
    Mohinder Singh
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Comparative Politics & Political Theory,
    mohindersingh@mail.jnu.ac.in, mohinder.du@gmail.com
  • Mukesh Kumar
    Mukesh Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian & Latin American Studies,
    mkumarjnu@mail.jnu.ac.in ; mukeshkumarjnu88@gmail.com
  • Mukesh Kumar Giluka
    Mukesh Kumar Giluka
    Assistant Professor
    School of Engineering
    mkgiluka@mail.jnu.ac.in , gilukagiluka@gmail.com
  • Mukesh Kumar Khandelwal
    Mukesh Kumar Khandelwal
    Assistant Professor
    School of Engineering
    mukeshkhandelwal@mail.jnu.ac.in ; mukesh.khandelwal89@ieee.org

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.