Skip to main content

Faculty Directory

Faculty Directory :

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | Y | Z

Faculty Directory

Number of Faculty : 24
  • D.K. Choubey
    D.K. Choubey
    Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    dkchoubey@mail.jnu.ac.in ; cdevendra@gmail.com
  • D. K. Lobiyal
    D. K. Lobiyal
    Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    dkl@mail.jnu.ac.in lobiyal@gmail.com
  • D.N. Das
    D.N. Das
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    dipendas@mail.jnu.ac.in dipendra02@gmail.com
  • D.P. Vidyarthi
    D.P. Vidyarthi
    Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    dpv@mail.jnu.ac.in dpvidyarthi2002@yahoo.com
  • Debashis  Ghoshal
    Debashis Ghoshal
    Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    dghoshal@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Deepak Sharma
    Deepak Sharma
    Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    sharmadeepak@mail.jnu.ac.in , deepak57in@yahoo.co.in
  • Deepak K. Mishra
    Deepak K. Mishra
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    deepakmishra@mail.jnu.ac.in deepakmishra.jnu@gmail.com
  • Deo Shankar Navin
    Deo Shankar Navin
    Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    deoshankar@mail.jnu.ac.in deoshankar@hotmail.com
  • Dhananjay Singh
    Dhananjay Singh
    Professor
    Centre for English Studies,
    dhananjay@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Dhir  Sarangi
    Dhir Sarangi
    Professor
    Centre for French and Francophone Studies,
    sarangi@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Dhruv Raina
    Dhruv Raina
    Professor
    Zakir Husain Centre for Educational Studies,
    dhruv@mail.jnu.ac.in d_raina@yahoo.com
  • Dinesh  Mohan
    Dinesh  Mohan
    Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    dmohan@mail.jnu.ac.in , dm_1967@hotmail.com
  • Dwaipayan  Bhattacharyya
    Dwaipayan Bhattacharyya
    Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    dwai22[AT]gmail.com; dwaipayan[AT]mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Dwaipayan Bharadwaj
    Dwaipayan Bharadwaj
    Professor
    School of Biotechnology
    db@mail.jnu.ac.in db@jnu.ac.in
  • D. Choudhury
    D. Choudhury
    Associate Professor
    School of Biotechnology
    devach@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • D.S. Rawat
    D.S. Rawat
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Chinese and South East Asian Studies,
    dsrawat@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Dayawanti
    Dayawanti
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Chinese and South East Asian Studies,
    dayawanti@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Debabrata Pal
    Debabrata Pal
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,
    debabrata@mail.jnu.ac.in , debabrata1234@gmail.com
  • Deep Narayan Pandey
    Deep Narayan Pandey
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for Disaster Research
    dnpandey@mail.jnu.ac.in ; deepudai@gmail.com
  • Deepak Sharma
    Deepak Sharma
    Assistant Professor
    School of Engineering
    deepaksharma@mail.jnu.ac.in, dsharma7309@gmail.com
  • Dinabandhu Das
    Dinabandhu Das
    Assistant Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    dinabandhu@mail.jnu.ac.in jnu.dinu@gmail.com
  • Dinamani
    Dinamani
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Japanese Studies
    dinamani@mail.jnu.ac.in ; dnmnkmr@gmail.com
  • Dipankar Ghosh
    Dipankar Ghosh
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for Molecular Medicine
    ghoshd@jnu.ac.in
  • Divya Vaid
    Divya Vaid
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    divyavaid@mail.jnu.ac.in

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.