Skip to main content

Faculty Directory

Faculty Directory :

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | Y | Z

Faculty Directory

Number of Faculty : 29
  • B. R. Panda
    B. R. Panda
    Professor
    School of Biotechnology
    binaypanda@jnu.ac.in, binaypandalab@gmail.com
  • B.R. Deepak
    B.R. Deepak
    Professor
    Centre for Chinese and South East Asian Studies,
    bdeepak@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Babu Thaliath
    Babu Thaliath
    Professor
    Centre of German Studies,
    bthaliath@mail.jnu.ac.in , babu.thaliath9@gmail.com
  • Balkrishna Champat  Vaidya
    Balkrishna Champat Vaidya
    Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament
    bcvaidya@mail.jnu.ac.in , vaidya2255@gmail.com
  • Bansidhar Pradhan
    Bansidhar Pradhan
    Professor
    Centre for West Asian Studies,
    pradhan@mail.jnu.ac.in , bansidharpradhan@gmail.com
  • Bhagat Oinam
    Bhagat Oinam
    Professor
    Centre for Philosophy,
    bhagatoinam@mail.jnu.ac.in, bhagatoinam@rediffmail.com
  • Bharat H. Desai
    Bharat H. Desai
    Professor
    Centre for International Legal Studies,
    desai@mail.jnu.ac.in desai@jnu.ac.in
  • Bhaswati Sarkar
    Bhaswati Sarkar
    Professor
    Centre for European Studies,
    bsarkar@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Bhujang Sambhaji Waghmare
    Bhujang Sambhaji Waghmare
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Law and Governance
    bswaghmare@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Bijoy Kumar Kuanr
    Bijoy Kumar Kuanr
    Professor
    Special Centre for Nanoscience
    bijoykuanr@mail.jnu.ac.in , bkkuanr@gmail.com
  • Bindu  Puri
    Bindu Puri
    Professor
    Centre for Philosophy,
    bindupuri@mail.jnu.ac.in , drbindupuri11@yahoo.com
  • Binod Kumar Kanaujia
    Binod Kumar Kanaujia
    Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
    bkkanaujia@jnu.ac.in , bkkanaujia@yahoo.co.in
  • Bishnupriya Dutt
    Bishnupriya Dutt
    Professor
    School of Arts & Aesthetics
    pia_dutt@mail.jnu.ac.in , bishnupriyapaul@gmail.com
  • Biswajit Dhar
    Biswajit Dhar
    Professor
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,
    biswajit@mail.jnu.ac.in , bisjit@gmail.com
  • Brajesh Kumar Pandey
    Brajesh Kumar Pandey
    Professor
    School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies
    brajeshkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Brijesh Kumar
    Brijesh Kumar
    Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    bkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in , bkumar@jnu.ac.in
  • B.S. Balaji
    B.S. Balaji
    Associate Professor
    School of Biotechnology
    bsbalaji@mail.jnu.ac.in , balaji_12@yahoo.com
  • Bhaswati Das
    Bhaswati Das
    Associate Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    bhaswati@mail.jnu.ac.in , bhaswati2004@gmail.com
  • Brajesh Kumar Tiwari
    Brajesh Kumar Tiwari
    Associate Professor
    Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship
    brajeshtiwari@mail.jnu.ac.in, julybrajesh@gmail.com
  • Brinda Bose
    Brinda Bose
    Associate Professor
    Centre for English Studies,
    brinda@mail.jnu.ac.in , brindabose@gmail.com
  • Brishti Guha
    Brishti Guha
    Associate Professor
    Centre for International Trade & Development
    brishtiguha@gmail.com
  • Balaji Birajdar
    Balaji Birajdar
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for Nanoscience
    birajdar@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Baviskar Sharad Pralhad
    Baviskar Sharad Pralhad
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for French and Francophone Studies,
    bspralhad@mail.jnu.ac.in sharadcrosshuma@gmail.com
  • Bhaskarjit Neog
    Bhaskarjit Neog
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Philosophy,
    bhaskarjit@mail.jnu.ac.in , bhaskarjit@gmail.com
  • Bikramaditya Kumar Choudhary
    Bikramaditya Kumar Choudhary
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    bkchoudhary@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Birendra Nath Prasad
    Birendra Nath Prasad
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    bnprasad@mail.jnu.ac.in , bp2629@gmail.com
  • Brahma Prakash Singh
    Brahma Prakash Singh
    Assistant Professor
    School of Arts & Aesthetics
    bprakash@jnu.ac.in, prakash.brahma@gmail.com
  • Buddha Singh
    Buddha Singh
    Assistant Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    buddhasingh@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Burton Cleetus
    Burton Cleetus
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    burton@mail.jnu.ac.in , burtoncleetus@gmail.com

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.