Skip to main content

Deans of Schools

Deans of Schools

Deans of Schools


Prof. Heeraman Tiwari


Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship

(14-03-2024 to till further orders),

011-26738841, 26739152

Prof. Urmimala Sarkar Munsi


School of Arts & Aesthetics

(23-05-2023 to 30-07-2024),


Prof. Kashyap Kumar Dubey


School of Biotechnology

(30-05-2023 to 29-05-2025)

011- 26708753

Prof. R.K. Brojen Singh


School of Computational & Integrative Sciences

(04-02-2024 to 03-02-2026)


Prof. Zahid Raza


School of Computer and Systems Sciences

(03-11-2023 to 02-11-2025)

011-26704767, 26704773

Prof. T. V. Vijay Kumar


School of Engineering

(18-01-2024 to 17-01-2026),


Prof. N. Janardhana Raju


School of Environmental Sciences

(08-01-2024 to 07-01-2026) ,

011-26704302, 26741538

Prof. Gopal Lal Meena


School of Indian Traditional Music and Dance

(04-01-2024 to 03-01-2026),

Prof. Amitabh Mattoo


School of International Studies

(10-02-2024 to 09-02-2026)


Prof. Shoba Sivasankaran


School of Language, Literature and Culture Studies

(31-01-2023 to 30-01-2025)

011-26704233, 26704223

Prof. Supriya Chakraborty


School of Life Sciences

(01-02-2023 to 31-01-2025),

011-26704530, 26704512

Prof. Sobhan Sen


School of Physical Sciences

(08-02-2024 to 07-02-2026),

011-26704781, 26741909

Prof. Brajesh Kumar Pandey


School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies

(30-12-2023 to 29-12-2025),


Prof. Kaushal Kumar Sharma


School of Social Sciences

(10-02-2024 to 30-06-2025)

011-26704406, 26704404



Special Center's Chairpersons


Prof. Prakash Chand Kandpal


Centre for the Study of Law & Governance

(16-09-2023 to 15-09-2025),



Prof. Kaushal Kumar Sharma


Special Centre for Disaster Research

(08-09-2023 to 30-06-2025)



Prof. B.S. Balaji


Special Centre for E-Learning

(07-06-2023 to 06-06-2025),



Prof. Rakesh K. Tyagi


Special Center for Molecular Medicine

(08-11-2023 to 07-11-2025),

011-26742572, 26738774, 26738875


Dr. Satyendra Singh


Special Centre for Nano Sciences

(20-09-2022 to 19-09-2024),



Prof. P.R. Kumaraswamy


Special Centre for National Security Studies

(19-03-2024 to till further orders),



Prof. Supriya Chakraborty


Special Centre for Systems Medicine

(05-05-2024 to till further orders),


Prof. R. Thamotharan


Special Centre for Tamil Studies

(21-03-2023 to 20-03-2025),



Prof. Rakhee Bhattacharjee


Special Centre for the Study of North East India

(19-04-2024 to 18-04-2026),






A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.